EQT 10-mile training – Week 4 9/15/15

It’s inevitable, barring an iron-clad constitution or an impenetrable immune system. Elementary-aged children catch some sort of cold early in the school year. Most parents soon follow.

Count me, and my wife Erin, among the many whose defenses were rendered useless to whatever nasty viruses Anna brought home from Amos K. Hutchinson Elementary School last week. By Wednesday, my sinuses were filled. By Friday night at work, they were releasing their nastiness en mass. I must have went through 15 tissues at work that night and sneezed enough to make a case to be part of an allergy study.

Running with a cold means my shirt is often a handkerchief. Whatever works!

Running with a cold means my shirt is often a handkerchief. Whatever works!

The cold was mostly a functional cold but, by Sunday, getting in a long run was going to be difficult. So, please don’t shame me, I skipped my first run in my Train to Run program with Fleet Feet Sports. (Don’t worry. I’m making up for it this week, even if the sniffles still persist and last week was a taper-down week.)

9/7/15 – A day following a successful 6.5-mile group run with the Fleet Feet Flyers, I hit the streets and put in 4.22 miles in 35:08. Not great, but not bad coming off my longest run since the Pittsburgh Marathon.

9/8/15 – A much-needed weight training session. One thing I’m struggling with during my 10-week training program is finding the time to lift.

9/9/15 – Congestion kicked in, but I surprised myself by running 4.03 miles on a treadmill at LA Fitness Greensburg in 32:48 following a brief weightlifting session.

9/10/15 – After lifting with Erin for about 45 minutes, I went back to the treadmill and put in another 4.03 miles in 32:45. Not going to lie, getting the two treadmill runs in while feeling under the weather bolstered my confidence. It wasn’t something I would have done when I was running well. I would have skipped the miles, chalking it up to not feeling well.

9/11/15 – Spin class with Erin. I CRUSHED IT!!!!! After class I told Erin, “The beast is back.” I ate those words 48 hours later.

9/12/15 – Coaching my daughter Anna’s U8 soccer team. Somehow coaching a team with 14 kids ages 6 & 7 is as tiring as a tough run.

9/13/15 – Sunday was the worst day in terms of congestion. I played hookie and didn’t feel terrible about it.

On to Week 5.

Leave a Reply

